top of page

🍒 Make Your Old Vintage Toys NEW➔ How to Clean & Remove Sticky & Tacky Residue From Childhood Toys



Are old childhood toys made of plastic safe to play with? Why are they sticky, tacky, and with a residue on the legs, chest, and arms of some action figures? I recently unboxed all my childhood toys - which had been sitting in sealed bags and boxes for DECADES - and these questions came to mind. I wanted my children to be able to play with them, as I did. After coming up empty on a lot of Google searches, I took matters into my own hands. Keep in mind - I'm no plastic scientist and can't speak to whether or not it is safe to play with old plastic toys prior to cleaning, or after, but here's what I did in my own situation and I now feel pretty good about it. Soaked (in pillow cases) in washing machine, then air dried small parts. Larger figures got a bath in baking soda and vinegar, with a little Dawn soap, then were scrubbed with soft brush and toothbrush. To get rid of sticky, tacky residue from plasticizer used when they were made (this gets reabsorbed back into plastic toys if in a sealed bag or box!), I used paint deglosser (test this first!!) followed by a light spraying with a clear coat, which effectively seals off that old plastic from your fingers, and making that faded color pop like new again. Time will tell how this holds up, but I'm feeling great about it and my kids can play with my childhood toys!!


--CLICK LINKS BELOW FOR PRODUCTS IN/RELATED TO VIDEO--

🍒 I rubbed my toys with this: https://amzn.to/2B6kOm6

🍒 Then I "sealed" them with this: https://amzn.to/2NqjEEx


**BE SURE TO SPOT CHECK / TEST ANY NATURAL INGREDIENTS OR CHEMICALS PRIOR TO APPLICATION ON YOUR TOYS - THIS VIDEO ONLY SHOWS WHAT WORKED FOR ME!!**


🔔 PLEASE SUPPORT THIS CHANNEL BY SUBSCRIBING!!! 🔔 Click here to subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIYQhNvQLD-9R859-fBEkeg?sub_confirmation=1








⚠️ THIS VIDEO WAS CREATED TO ASSIST YOU WITH YOUR PURCHASE/PROJECT. PLEASE CONSIDER ALL RISKS BEFORE BUYING AND/OR STARTING. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN ACTIONS. THE MAKER OF THIS VIDEO DOES NOT ASSUME TO BE AN AUTHORITY AND, THEREFORE, IS NOT RESPONSIBLE OR LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGE, INJURY, LOSS THAT OCCURS AS A RESULT OF VIEWING THE CONTENTS OF THIS VIDEO. ANY ACTION YOU TAKE FROM THE INFORMATION WITHIN THIS VIDEO IS STRICTLY AT YOUR OWN RISK. ⚠️


➡To earn your trust, please know that as an affiliate I may receive a small commission for certain products that you purchase. However, as I personally own most products I review, I try to be 100% unbiased in any recommendations I may give. Additionally, I mostly recommend products that are only 4.5 or 5 stars (i.e. on Amazon). Thanks and enjoy This Better Home!

Comments


bottom of page